1. What do you find most helpful? Give us your feedback on the 2019 SDN Member Survey to help further the SDN mission (and win prizes!)
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice

3.9 GPA/35 MCAT, minimal research...good enuf?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by neurofreak, Mar 10, 2007.

1. neurofreak

7+ Year Member

Medical Student
    im new to this so i appreciate any and all responses. im applying this upcoming summer and have a 3.9 (3.8 BCMP) from a top school and a 35T, but only have minimal research experience (1 summer)...other ECs are great, hopefully great LORs, etc.

does anyone know of any applicants getting into top schools with comparable stats and minimal research experience? ive seen so many posts of people with crazy intense research/pubs and was wondering if this is an absolute requirement, especially since it really isnt my thing. thanks in advance

2. sekem

sekem Senior Member
    5+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    here we go again!!!

no you have zero chance!

3. leesh

leesh I'm bored
    5+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    :rolleyes:

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. holyroller212

Pre-Medical
    Don't worry about the research. What matters is whether you've had experience in a clinical setting. Unless you're going for academic medicine, you're going to be fine. Not everyone on SDN likes to do research.:)

5. MirrorTodd

MirrorTodd It's a gas.
    Physician 10+ Year Member

MDApps:
    Resident [Any Field]
    This question coming from you doesn't even deserve an answer. Seriously man, browse the site before you post. There is a thread at the top of the page for questions like this.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Wanna_B_Scutty

2+ Year Member

Medical Student
    *yawns*

I know that calling "troll" has gone out of vogue, but I think that's the most likely scenario here.

7. yomama'sdoctor

2+ Year Member

Pre-Medical