3.92 GPA, 36R MCAT (12,12,12), no clue where to apply...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sjrobinson

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a biology major with a 3.92 cGPA, 3.84 sGPA, 36R MCAT and no idea where to apply. I'm an Alabama resident, so definitely applying to UAB and USA. I will also apply to Vanderbilt, but I'm thinking that's a long shot and I was told that most people apply to ten or more schools and I don't know where to go from here.

I have considerable shadowing experience and leadership, a good bit of clinical and nonclinical volunteering, and some research experience (not published though). I've spent 18 years of my life within 10 miles of the Gulf of Mexico and I stayed in the deep south for college... I'd prefer to not be in a huge, cold city like New York, but that might change based on any acceptance.

Any suggestions?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a biology major with a 3.92 cGPA, 3.84 sGPA, 36R MCAT and no idea where to apply. I'm an Alabama resident, so definitely applying to UAB and USA. I will also apply to Vanderbilt, but I'm thinking that's a long shot and I was told that most people apply to ten or more schools and I don't know where to go from here.

I have considerable shadowing experience and leadership, a good bit of clinical and nonclinical volunteering, and some research experience (not published though). I've spent 18 years of my life within 10 miles of the Gulf of Mexico and I stayed in the deep south for college... I'd prefer to not be in a huge, cold city like New York, but that might change based on any acceptance.

Any suggestions?

Top 15 schools are a crapshoot. People with 4.0/40 get rejected by most of them. However your stats are good enough for you to apply top heavy. Also, try your luck with some high caliber OOS schools in nearby states (UNC, Emory, Duke come to mind), because you never know what may happen.