3.97 GPA, 31 MCAT: Chances and School List Advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Corvid

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm applying for the 2014 cycle:

My stats are as follows:

3.97 cGPA, 3.97 science GPA.
31P MCAT (11 VR, 9 PS, 11 BS)

I'm an undergrad at a UC if it helps with my school list later.

ECs:

[*]Teaching Assistant for two upper-division biology courses - 220 hours total

[*]Part-time job as a lab assistant (from September 2011 to now) - ~620 hours total

[*]Clinical research (work with anatomical and functional brain imaging data, a lot of patient contact) ~205 hours total over a year and a half

[*] Hospital volunteer - ~230 hours total over a year and a half

[*] This EC is a bit hard to explain, but using the credentials I have as a clinical research assistant, I basically helped administer a novel treatment for pain relief under an anesthesiologist (basically like shadowing but actually assisting the doctor in administering the treatment)- Weekly basis over a year for a total of ~125 hours.

[*] A side project where I helped in the preliminary development of a robot arm for the treatment I mentioned above (not a very prominent EC, but one I felt I should mention) - ~50 hours

***Side note to separate me from some applicants (I don't think it's too important but I briefly touched on it on my personal statement): I have a permanent chronic illness (but it's been in remission for a few years).

School list:

Albany Medical College
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Boston University School of Medicine
David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA
Drexel University College of Medicine
Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth
Keck Sch. of Med.University of Southern California
Loyola University Chicago Stritch School of Medicine
New York Medical College
New York University
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
Oregon Health and Science University