1. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

3.97c, 4.0s, 507 MCAT

Discussion in 'What Are My Chances?' started by Strebor14k, Aug 4, 2015.

1. Strebor14k

2+ Year Member

Medical Student
    Hey guys,

So I have most of my secondaries in and I'm just waiting to hear back on interviews. I have one DO school (AZCOM) interview already scheduled... but I really would prefer an MD school over DO. I have done a very good job with my ECs and I am not worried about them at all. I am an Idaho resident, cleared for the WWAMI program, but I grew up in AZ and my family and in-laws all live there, attended high school, etc, so I have good ties there. The only thing that concerns me is my CARS score on the new 2015 MCAT. Here are my numbers:

Overall GPA: 3.97
    Science GPA: 4.0

MCAT: 507
    CP: 129
    CARS: 124
    BB: 127
    PsS: 127

It's just that dang CARS score that doesn't look good. It hits the minimum score req for most mid to low range MD schools, but will it keep me out of MD schools? I want to be realistic about this whole process, but I have also worked my butt off and don't want to sell myself short. I guess now that everything is in and I'm just waiting, I'm starting to get a little anxious and second guess myself. Here are all the MD schools that I applied to:

U of A Phoenix and Tuscon
    Loma Linda
    University of Colorado
    Rosalind Franklin
    Rush
    Duke (Shoot for the stars school... I know, you don't need to tell me)
    Creighton
    University of Rochester (another school where my MCAT score will be around the 10th percentile for accepted applicants)