3 DAT Achiever tests with no improvement?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Lou42

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been studying for the DAT for a few months now and recently cranked it up to 8-10 hrs/day. I took my 3rd achiever exam this morning and scored a AA 13 :(, same as I scored on the first two. I know people say that Achiever is much harder than the actual exam but I'm starting to stress that I will never be ready.

I started my studying with Kaplan BB, Cliff's AP bio, and Crack PAT. Lately I've been studying with more audio and video because I was getting burnt out on the other material. The video series from The Teaching company on (the Science of Life and MCAT audio osmosis) are really good and what I've been concentrating on lately. I have also gone through most of Chad's video's and some of Freelance teacher. Completed 4 practice exams in Math Destroyer. The problem is I have all this material and too little time to get through it all.

To give you a little background- I took the DAT back in the summer of 2006 and scored a 16. At the time I wasn't very serious about pursuing dentistry and really didn't study much. This time around there is no plan B and I'm really focused (it's all I do). My exam date is July 16 and I have no distractions except for 15 hrs of work on the weekends.

I feel like I'm back up to speed with Bio, but need a lot of help in chemistry as a whole. My thinking is that if I can go through destroyer twice before the test date the chemistry will come together?

Any advice is greatly appreciated?

Members don't see this ad.

I went through the chemistry parts of destroyer several times and it worked great for me. Do a block of 25 problems, then go back and learn from what you got wrong. Make notes, and do the problem again the next day.