3 Undergrad Degrees/Low GPA for Med School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

fragilewindows

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 27-year-old recent graduate with 3 degrees:

School 1: Communications (BA), GPA 3.125

School 2: Architecture (BS), Information Technology (BS) GPA 2.96
(failed Calculus II, twice, including my last semester)

In Spring 2013, I will be starting a Masters in Bioinformatics, where I would take all the remaining medical school requirements that I didn't take in college: Biology I, II, Chemistry I, II, and Organic Chemistry I, II.

Questions:

1) Is getting a Masters in Bioinformatics a good route to take for M.D. or D.O program since Bioinformatics is related to my I.T. degree?

2) How will my undergraduate degrees affect my acceptance into M.D. or D.O program? (Particularly since they are such diverse focuses and unrelated to medicine)

I know there's a lot that I have to do to get into medical school: health-related volunteering, shadowing, letters of recommendations, etc. I don't plan to start medical school for 3-4 years. But I feel that besides my GPA, my degrees, especially in architecture, will definitely be a weak point in my application process.

Thank you for any insight.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I am a 27-year-old recent graduate with 3 degrees:

School 1: Communications (BA), GPA 3.125

School 2: Architecture (BS), Information Technology (BS) GPA 2.96
(failed Calculus II, twice, including my last semester)

In Spring 2013, I will be starting a Masters in Bioinformatics, where I would take all the remaining medical school requirements that I didn't take in college: Biology I, II, Chemistry I, II, and Organic Chemistry I, II.

Questions:

1) Is getting a Masters in Bioinformatics a good route to take for M.D. or D.O program since Bioinformatics is related to my I.T. degree?