30 Y.O. Top-Tier European MBA in Med Tech w/ MD Dreams -> PostBac?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gdg203

Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

I'm a 30 year-old graduate of a top-tier European MBA working in financial administration for a med tech startup in Germany. However, both my work and a recent personal relationship have had me thinking hard about medicine again since last fall.

Medicine isn't a new idea. At the College of William and Mary in Virginia I had dabbled in the sciences briefly, only to switch to accounting - which I quickly hated. After graduation, while working in insurance in Connecticut, I became a certified EMT in my free time. Then, after a work move back to Washington, DC, I started the Science in the Evening Program at the University of Maryland. There, I completed three biology classes and one chemistry class - all As. With those courses, my undergraduate GPA is close to 3.5. However, I had always wanted to live abroad, and after learning I could become a dual EU citizen, I found myself choosing between further studies in the evening program and the adventure. I decided to go for the adventure, did the MBA thing (3.8 GPA), and now live and work in Munich.

Obviously, how I proceed next depends on geography. Let's say I go back stateside. Would you all recommend a postbac program for me, and if so, what would you say my chances might be of entering one?

Hope this makes sense. I realize this all likely sounds batsh*t crazy.

Sincerely,

gdg203

Members don't see this ad.

Well you definitely have an interesting background with a wide range of experiences. Have you completed all of the prereqs? What is your BCPM gpa?

How much volunteering and shadowing have you done? Your background wouldn't be a problem, but you need to demonstrate a continuing interest in medicine and service.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)