30R mcat, 3.7 GPA. Chance???

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Don15

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi All!

I have a 3.7 GPA and a 3.8 science gpa. My mcat breakdown is P-9 V-10 B-11 total 30R

- neuroscience major
-I worked as a radiology assistant at a hospital for a year and have about 400 hours of clinical experience.
-500+ volunteer hours.
-Shadowed a cardiologist for 80 hours
- 2 years experience working at a neuroscience research lab
- was captain/choreographer for a dance team at my university for 3 years
- held positions as PR officer and secretary on two different clubs
-VA resident

I will be applying in 2011, here is a tentative list of schools i am considering:

EVMS, UVA, VCU, VTECH, Georgetown, George Washington, Howard, NYMC, Albany, Jefferson, Drexel, Temple, Penn State, and Commonwealth

Any other schools I should consider adding?

Also I know my mcat is not that high, should I retake?

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!!!

Members don't see this ad.

Your GPA is pretty solid.

Do you think you are capable of doing better on the MCAT? You're not in a bad position where you are, but it sounds like you have some time to take it again. If you think you hit your cap, then don't risk dropping your score.

If you feel confident you can do better, and you haven't already taken a prep class, I would sign up for one through TPR or Kaplan. I suspect that would help you gain a few points. Getting a 33-35 would put you in a great position!

I originally thought I couldn't afford a prep class, but I decided it was worth the investment and I think it paid off.

I think you have a solid application and a higher score would put even more schools within reach. Your list right now looks pretty good.

Think really carefully about retake. If you're generally a good test taker (mock, your classes), and just had an off day, then retake by all means.