Dec 1, 2013
Status
Pre-Health (Field Undecided)
I am new to posting on SDN.

Awhile ago, I gave up on a dream to pursue a career in healthcare. Now I am studying for the DAT and preparing to apply in 2014. I have a few questions and need some insights. Any guidance is greatly appreciated.

1. Do I need to take a Biochemistry class?

I noticed that many of the dental schools now require 3 credits of Biochemistry. Is this a requirement that I can fulfill after acceptance? Will a community college class satisfy this need?

2. Do I need to take science pre-reqs over again?

A number of schools prefer class no more than 10 years old. I recently completed my MBA in 2011 from a full-time program. Does that help provide evidence of "academic ability"?

I completed my undergraduate biology degree in 2004 and my GPAs are as follows:
a. Overall - 3.44
b. Science - 3.46
c. BCP - 3.41

Thanks in advance.

hypemachine

5+ Year Member
Sep 7, 2012
Status
Pre-Dental
1) As you said, some schools require Biochem and some don't. In your personal case, since you haven't taken a science course in a while, it might be beneficial to take the biochem anyway. Nevertheless, for those schools that DO require it, it is a requirement that you can fulfill AFTER acceptance but BEFORE matriculation. You would still have to have completed it by the start of dental school. Also I might be wrong but I don't think community colleges offer upper level sciences (i.e. above 200 level). You might have to take it at a local state school, but check just to make sure.

2) I'm not sure about the answer to this question. It might be in your best interest to contact some schools and anonymously ask the admissions what their thoughts are on science courses from 10+ years ago. They would be the best source for that answer. Your GPA is competitive for some schools, though, and with a very competitive DAT score I'm sure you'd be considered for them. But it would be better to call the admissions first.

Oct 2, 2012