31 yr old single mom, masters route?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LupaCupcake

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Some of you may recognize me...I have been on this website off and on for years. I had to step away from school in general, from here and get my life in order recently, but I want to jump back in , now that I am mentally clear and emotionally stable. Let me explain....

Last time I posted on here I commented that I may be getting a divorce and due to this I had to be careful about my career/education options. Stated that I was originally looking at med school, which I was. Well I am for sure getting a divorce, he is moving out of my house first week of September and I venture into the land of being a single mother. My child is in second grade this year coming up.

Education wise I have my bachelor degree, psych major/bio minor with a 3.8. Since graduating I worked as a psychiatric technician at an acute inpatient facility for a year and I am now the patient advocate for 1.5 years which falls into the department of quality assurance/risk management. So I have almost 3 years of working in behavioral health. I find myself doing a lot of admin work along with patient interaction, but honestly I am behind a desk more than I am sitting with a patient. I find that when I do take the time to sit down with a patient and talk to them, that is when I feel that inner fire, that is where I thrive and actually enjoy my job. Paperwork, spreadsheets and fancy reports are my nemesis anymore, I loathe them and procrastinate lol. Give me a screaming patient to talk with for a hour over a quiet spreadsheet report any day! :)