31Q, 3.68 BCPM, 2.92 cGpa Non Trad EVMS smp or D.O.??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

USMC1371

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a non traditional student that served in the Marine Corps for 7 years (2 deployments) and would like to post my stats for critique/advice. At my current University, I have a dramatic upward GPA trend finishing the past 5 semesters with at least a 3.6 overall. My issue is that during my military years, I took multiple courses at local community colleges with the unknown inability to complete them successfully. These courses were all intro gen eds (no science). In 2007, I lost 4 of my Marines in combat, came back, attempted a full load and left the semester with a 1.2 gpa for the semester. No matter the reason, the numbers are still on paper. Here is a breakdown of my current stats:
MCAT 31Q
3.7 overall from my University (cc transfer grades are Ts)
2.2 gpa from CCs (with enough courses to SLOWLY increase AMCAS calculation)
3.68 BCPM
2.92 AMCAS overall
250 Hospital volunteer hours
8 years honorably in the Marine Corps
1 semester shadowing an MD
5 LORS: 2 professors, 1 MD, 1 Battalion Surgeon D.O. whom I served with overseas, 1 battalion commander whom I also served with.

I am a VA resident and would like opinions on my competitiveness for EVMS's SMP program. I decided last year to go this route instead of replacing 18 hours of gen ed courses for D.O. schools but am starting to second guess my decision given the programs competitiveness. Any thoughts, opinions, advice? Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

STRONGLY suggest taking a post-bac program to show us you can handle medical school.
Many thanks for your service. Semper fi!