32Q, 3.37 cGPA, 3.32 sGPA, with an MPH REAPPLICANT... chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AD28

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
-

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
hello all,

long time reader, first time poster.

as you can tell from my gpa, i didn't take my studies very seriously during undergrad, so after failing to get into med schools the first time, i went to columbia university where i got my master's in public health, concentrating in health policy and management. on top of the standard public health courses (epidemiology, environmental health sciences, biostatistics, etc.) i took a fair number of MBA type classes because they were interesting and practical, but in hindsight i probably should have done an epidemiology track. my graduate gpa was 3.53.

i think i've got pretty decent EC's - did a year of research during undergrad, was an executive officer in a student group for 3 years, worked as an administrative intern at a hospital for a summer, currently working as a data analyst at a health care quality review company and doing research (mainly concerning menopause and alzheimer's) with a doctor on the side.

i've finished applying to med schools for fall 2010 and i haven't heard back from any schools and i'm starting to get worried. i applied to a wide range of schools: UCLA, Mt. Sinai, Temple, Vermont, Loma Linda, USC, Miami, and all the state schools for NY (im a ny resident), NYU, Einstein, Rochester, Drexel, Penn State, BU, Tufts, and Robert Wood Johnson. Most of my apps were completed around 9/10-9/15, except for Miami, Vermont, and UCLA, which i applied to later.

My top choices are UCLA and Mt. Sinai, but they're longshots at best. Any feedback on my chances at getting an interview (an acceptance) from any of the other schools at this point in time would be great.

Thanks!