3rd Year New to Ophtho

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

visco

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I've read several forums about applying to ophthalmology and it seems like so many of you have some great advice to offer. As everyone's situation is unique, I thought I'd post mine to see if you can help me out.

I'm a 3rd year Osteopathic student who just recently became interested in ophtho during a surgery subspecialty rotation. Previously I thought I wanted to do EM but have been having second thoughts for a while. To highlight some of my credentials:
Pre-clinical: All A's except 1 or 2 classes, top 10%
Boards: Step1 260+, COMLEX 830's
Extracurriculars: Mostly EM related with a few leadership positions, a few EM conferences, academic tutor, some teaching experience, some volunteering
Research: None (got married between years 1 and 2; few opportunities at my institution)
Clinical: Honors in IM, hopefully honors in surgery, others TBD

As a DO student with no research experience I know I have my work cut out for me despite my good academic record and board scores. I've found a few opportunities in my area that I'm looking into. First, I'm planning on shadowing a guy I know who just finished his ophtho residency and moved to the area. I also know of a free cataract clinic that some students at my school have volunteered at in the past that I can potentially get involved with. Lastly, I've looked into research and there a few potential opportunities in the area, though it seems to be mostly basic science research and not clinical.

I'd love to hear everyone's thoughts on the opportunities I mentioned above and general advice on how I can make the best use of the time I have left to strengthen my application and become a part of this incredible field!

Members don't see this ad.