MD 4.0 GPA 31 MCAT, help with school list?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

funkymonkey0987

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm going to try to not give too much personal information away in this post, so this may not be very detailed.

I have a 4.0 gpa from a well known, private university and a 31 MCAT (10/11/10)
I'm a finance major with a biochemistry minor.
I have research experience, extensive volunteering in a hospital (for 5 years total), I'm an officer in a pre-med organization at my school and I have a really good internship lined up for this summer that is related to healthcare. I have quite a bit of shadowing, over 100 hours. I have really strong recommendation letters also.

As a Texas resident, an obvious reach school would be UTSW. I plan to apply to all medical schools in my state but would like some help in coming up with a school list to some others outside of Texas also. If you would like to post what you think about how competitive I would be at different schools, that would be very much appreciated! Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

Do you think you can raise your MCAT to 35+ if you try again? 31 is good but having over a 35 will really make your app awesome.

I don't have time this summer to retake it because I'm at a leadership conference for the next two weeks and then I start my internship

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm going to try to not give too much personal information away in this post, so this may not be very detailed.

I have a 4.0 gpa from a well known, private university and a 31 MCAT (10/11/10)
I'm a finance major with a biochemistry minor.