Jul 24, 2016
Status
Medical Student (Accepted)
Hi, so resident newbie here. I'm still getting a feel for the forums, obviously, but just figured I'd try posting here because I'm curious if I aimed for the right schools or not.

Grades: 4.00 sGPA & 4.00 cGPA
MCAT: 511 on the August 22, 2015 test (127 C/P, 130 CARS, 126 Bio, 128 Psych)
Residency: New York
Race: Caucasian
Degree: B.S. in Biomedical Sciences from RIT.
Clinical Experience: ~175 clinical hours as a volunteer health coach.
Laboratory Experience: Worked full-time in a stem cell laboratory for a biotechnology company in summer 2015. Amounted to roughly 360 hours of work.
Shadowing: ~60 hours (oncology, otolaryngology, and radiology).
Other Volunteering: Served as a peer mentor for RIT's undecided program (University Studies), SAT Math tutor for disadvantaged high school students, and other opportunities through my fraternity (e.g. Adopt-A-Highway, helping run an annual 5K for cadiomyopathy research, etc.).
Other Extracurriculars: 3 years as a brother of Phi Sigma Pi (including 1.5 years as chapter president), 3 years on the Model UN team, teaching assistant for Anatomy & Physiology and Organic Chemistry.
Gap Year Activities: Working full-time as a clinical lab technician for a local hospital. Also volunteering with a local outreach group that supports cancer patients on the side.

I had intended to apply for fall 2016 but a family emergency popped up before I could even register for the MCAT in 2015 and I knew it was going to spill into summer and fall, so I opted for the gap year instead. It was something important and I wanted to help resolve it before applying. Yes, the MCAT score's probably not as high as it should be, but I took several practice tests while studying and never got higher than a 500 so I was pleased with the score.

Anyway, here are the schools I applied to:
Albany
Albert Einstein
Boston U
Brown
Case Western
Columbia
Emory
Dartmouth
GW
Georgetown
Hofstra
Mt. Sinai
Buffalo
NYMC
NYU