1. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

4-wk elective in Stockholm/Helsinki?

Discussion in 'General International Discussion' started by sudeesh, Sep 28, 2002.

1. sudeesh

sudeesh New Member

Hey all, I'm hoping someone here might be able to help me out...

I'm a resident in an Emergency Medicine program in New York City. Next year, we have a 4-week elective that we can do anywhere in the world, in any specialty. For most people in my residency, including myself, this is pretty much a 4-week vacation. (Heavy emphasis on the "elective" part, as in, "I ELECT not to go in this week." I know it sounds bad, but it's a nice break from the chaos that comes with any urban ER.) I'm interested in going to either Stockholm or Helsinki. Any idea whom I need to contact? Hospital, medicial school, or individual doctor contacts would be greatly appreciated.

Hope to hear from you guys soon,

sudeesh

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. SomeFakeName

SomeFakeName Membership Revoked
    Removed

Sudeesh, you might want to look into the Karolinska Institute in Stockholm. It is a world-renowned medical facility that will have bascially anything you're wanting to do. I'm sure they accomodate physicians from abroad for a medical elective. Hope this helps.

4. Dutch Doc

Dutch Doc Junior Member
    7+ Year Member

Hello Sudeesh,

I don't know an answer to your question but would like to ask you something instead.

Even though I'm only fifth year I have some idea to what I would like to be doing after graduation: Emergency Medicine. It sounds really exciting that you're into that field in a big city like NYC. Could you maybe tell me some more about what you do every day and how you got your residency there? You can e-mail me if it's not too much trouble.