40% acceptance rate for dental school?!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

twinklestarr

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all - I've been working in IT for almost 10 years and am currently a software architect... I graduated 11 years ago with a BS in Computer Science and a Minor in Biology, along with a MS in Computer Science.

I'm contemplating making a career switch and noticed that dental school has a 40% acceptance rate... Why is that? Is it because the majority of students are sub-par? Or is it due to other factors? I guess i'm wondering because I'd like to know what would make me competitive... I am 35 years old and have a baby... I want to make sure that I have a shot of getting in... But at this rate, it looks like the majority of people do not make dental school... It's an interesting statistic to me.

Members don't see this ad.

I sort of thought the opposite when I saw the acceptance rate. I mean, you definitely can't just decide to be a dentist and apply and just get in. But if you're stats don't completely suck and you take the shotgun approach to applying, the chances are decent you'll get in somewhere.

Consider that there are a lot of factors involved to acceptance. If you fit certain criteria for certain schools, your chance of acceptance goes up significantly. It's not a clear-cut free-for-all with the entire pool of applicants.

I'm contemplating making a career switch and noticed that dental school has a 40% acceptance rate... Why is that? Is it because the majority of students are sub-par? Or is it due to other factors? I guess i'm wondering because I'd like to know what would make me competitive... I am 35 years old and have a baby... I want to make sure that I have a shot of getting in... But at this rate, it looks like the majority of people do not make dental school... It's an interesting statistic to me.