502 MCAT/ 3.8 cGPA/ URM - Should I retake?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kitkatkike

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, everyone. Just received my scores from the exam a few moments ago. 100% awful. Wondering if I should still apply for this upcoming cycle (and also retake in September).

I'm pretty much only looking at MD schools, though I do plan to put a couple DO schools on my list. I'm a GA resident, so I planned on applying to all in-state schools, a couple schools around the south (AL, FL, NC, TN, etc), and a few out there schools (MA, OR).

I'm in a state school with a 3.81 cGPA + 3.76(?) sGPA, with a slight upward trend (all A's this past year). MCAT (as mentioned before) was pretty damn bad with a 502. I believe I have 2 solid letters of rec (1 from work supervisor + other biology department committee letter) and 1 really great 1 (Physics professor). Completing a thesis (to be completed early August), got a research grant from a translational science program, did a poster presentation at PKP, and plan to present at the National Collegiate Honors Council conference this fall. In total, spent about ~200 hrs doing lab work.

Worked as a tutor for about 2 years (~600 hrs) and have ~300 non-clinical volunteering hours. In addition to my crap MCAT score, my clinical volunteering + shadowing aren't great either. I have ~26 hours for clinical volunteering (wondering if I should even put it on my app) and ~60 hours of shadowing in adult ER, peds ER, and the ICU. Spent a summer doing SHPEP, and I'm an URM (African/Female).

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
There are some MD schools where you could receive interviews with your stats and I suggest all these:
Medical College Georgia
Mercer
Morehouse
Meharry
Howard
NOVA MD
George Washington
Temple
Drexel
Albany
New York Medical College
Quinnipiac
Oakland Beaumont
Medical College Wisconsin
Loyola
Rosalind Franklin
St. Louis
Creighton