MD & DO A bit about myself, and my plan of action. Feedback greatly and humbly appreciated.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jack O. Lantern

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone. I have been reading a bit through various forums regarding Medical School, so I thought that I would register and learn as much as possible about how I should go about my dream of becoming a Physician. This thread will serve as my introduction and hopefully a place where I can get a bit of feedback.

About me:

I am a 26 year old full time EMT-Basic for a rural northern California 911 Ambulance service. I have no children, but a serious girlfriend. I recently graduated Paramedic school didactic, and am five internship shifts (24 hour rotations) away from receiving my letter of completion, and taking the National Registry Paramedic exam. I have been an EMT-B for a little more than two years, and worked full time (~80 hours per week) during Paramedic school. I received an A- each of the two semesters of the program, but I feel I could have done much better with fewer hours at work. As of now, if I do say so myself, I am excelling in my internship. I have had a heaping handful of critical calls (OD's, Codes, Etc), and am not a squeamish, timid, or emotionally attached person. Quite the contrary, I am FASCINATED by emergency medicine and generally very cool and calm.