A Canadian with a lot of questions...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DBcanada

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm a 3rd year med student in Canada, born and raised in Canada. My fiance is Canadian, and is currently a 1st year med student in the US.

Initially we were thinking she would finish medical school and come back to Canada - likely the path of least resistance when it comes to our future. For a few months I've been thinking "why don't i look into medicine in the US? I like the US as a country, it's not that far from home, healthcare has problems in both the US and Canada - no escaping that, etc. etc."

Now I'm at a point where I feel pursuing a long term goal of practicing family medicine in the US is what I want to do. I see myself having a private practice +/- hospitalist work. I like the idea of getting into sports medicine, pain medicine, emerg, or whatever I want at the time. You can do this in Canada but I get the impression the opportunities are greater in the US. As far as family vs. internal goes, I figure if I ever want to come back to Canada I shouldn't do internal since here you can't set up a private practice as a general internist the same way as in the US.

So of course, the questions/worry/generalized anxiety kicks in. I'll start with a couple basic ones and move from there. I really just want peoples opinions, so let me know what you think.

1. I need to do a US family medicine residency. I know this considered non-competetive, as it is in Canada, but what am I looking at in terms of requirements and restrictions?
- Will I need to write the USMLE?
- Do I need to start looking at setting up some, if not alot of, US electives?
- What path did you take through medical school to get your FM residency of choice? (not-canadian specific, just generally what does it take to be a family doc in the US)

2. Does this sound like a right move?