1. The SDN iPhone App is back and free through November! Get it today and please post a review on the App Store!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice

A good course of study?

Discussion in 'Psychology [Psy.D. / Ph.D.]' started by musicalneurosis, Aug 5, 2011.

1. musicalneurosis

Non-Student
    I am hopeful that some of you might have some good advice or ideas for me:

After spending about a decade pursuing a life as a musician, I am thinking about going back to school and pursuing a different path. A lot of reasons for this, not the least of which is the fact that classical music jobs are getting fewer and fewer while the level of competition for those jobs is getting better and better.

My own experience this past year dealing with burnout and working w/ a wonderful LMSW certainly play a role in this, but also the discovery of my tremendous interest in the area of psychology as it applies to people's 'problems' in life. I have also found a sense of gratification in helping people that is very different from the kind that I received in performing.

I really don't have a strong sense of where I might do well or what kinds of programs I could even realistically pursue. I'll be 31 soon and have about 41K in student loans already. I'd prefer to avoid blowing that number up too far if I can.

I have already done 7 years of schooling, but it was all in music.

4 years: BaMusEd (3.96gpa)
    2 years: MMus Performance (3.87gpa)
    1 year post grad study (4.0)

The only real 'psychology' background I have is in studying the psychology of education - Piaget and Erickson stand out in my head. I suppose I studied quite a bit of educational theory in there as well (action theory?). It was almost a decade ago so I don't recall much of it. I know I must have understood it well enough at the time.

But what does that mean now? What options are available (and realistic) for me at this point in the area of mental health? Is mental health even an appropriate field?