1. What do you find most helpful? Give us your feedback on the 2019 SDN Member Survey to help further the SDN mission (and win prizes!)
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice

A little help please

Discussion in 'Surgery and Surgical Subspecialties' started by jubb, Mar 2, 2007.

1. jubb

jubb Tern
    7+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    OK, I'm a third year medical student, I've always been interested in Surgery but ruled it out when I got married. Now I realized I don't really like anything else in medicine half as much as surgery.

I just completed my 3rd year surgery rotation. I screwed up on the test at the end and will not be getting Honors or Letters for my rotation. So now I'm freaking out because I really want to do surgery, but am off to a horrible start and applications are due in like 6 months or so. I'm not worried about my Step 1 score, but the rest of my clinical rotations grades are not stellar. What can I do to salvage my application? Recently deciding to do surgery, I don't have any long standing contact with the surgery staff, I don't have any research, and other extracurricular activities that are at all attached to surgery.

Any suggestions? How bad is my situation?

Justin

2. Bitsy3221

10+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    Not all is lost.

You may only have six months before application time, but hey-six months is a relatively long time. Make an appointment with one of the attending surgeons you did work with and express your interest. Ask him/her advice on your next move; see if there is some research projects you can jump on, spend some of your off time working with and getting to know your surgical faculty. I'm not sure why you said you won't be able to get any Letters--did you do a terrible job? Did they hate you? If you are thinking you will only get a LOR if you smoke the shelf or get honors, you are absolutely incorrect.