A Little Help with Shadowing and Clinical Experience

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ttothemac

Gunner... the soccer fan kind
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So, I am a sophomore in college right now and I want to apply to medical school in 1.5 years (that is the normal time right?).

My GPA and major are fine, and I think I will be doing research next year. But I am really having trouble with the shadowing/ clinical experience. So far I have volunteered at one hospital for a semester, but that it is it.

How can I go about getting shadowing/clinical experience while I am at school if I do not have a car? Are there any places where I can get some clinical experience other than hospitals? Also how would I proceed to ask doctors if I may shadow with them when I am at home because I recently moved and do not know any of them personally.

Thanks for any help, I know that I just asked a lot of questions!

Members don't see this ad.

How can I go about getting shadowing/clinical experience while I am at school if I do not have a car? Are there any places where I can get some clinical experience other than hospitals?

It depends on what's in your area. Hospitals are going to be the best place to get clinical experience, and at some point you're going to need significant clinical exposure either in a hospital or a private office. I would start by seeing if there are any hospitals on a local bus route, then widen your search. See if there's a free clinic or a private doctor's office in the area.

Also how would I proceed to ask doctors if I may shadow with them when I am at home because I recently moved and do not know any of them personally.