A physical scientist in need of some pre-med help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Lazuli

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
My story begins when I decided I wanted to be a doctor the month before I graduated from college. This, by the way, is probably not the best time to make such a decision. There's a long story behind why I decided this, but ultimately, the only really important detail is I want to do this more than I've wanted to do anything else in my life.

Currently, after working the past year as a geologist, I'm trying to figure out the best way to meet the requirements for med school, and this is where I desperately need some help!

Here's the scope. I majored in geology and by planning on going to grad school for geoscience, I managed to meet the physics, calculus, and basic chem courses required for med school. However, I have not taken any of the biology courses or advanced chemistry (or psych or english for that matter), nor have I had any guidence for the MCAT or Med school applications. Also, my grades for the required courses I have taken are not exactly pretty (think along the line of lots of Cs), and my overall GPA was 3.2, which obviously is not so fantastic either.

Clearly I have a lot of work ahead of me. So my question is, what is the best way to go about filling the pre-med requirements and boosting my GPA? Is there any possibility of doing a post-bac?

And if I do take undergrad classes to bring up my GPA, will that replace the previous poor grads, or will the new classes be counted separately? Are med schools okay with applicates taking classes over?

Let me know what you think and feel free to share any advice. Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.