1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

a question about the early decision plan

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by asharma11, Jun 19, 2002.

1. asharma11

asharma11 Junior Member
    10+ Year Member

Hello,

I am a third-year undergraduate majoring in biochemistry and neuroscience and minoring in philosophy, political science, and cognitive science. My overall GPA is 3.89 and my MCAT score is 35R (V-10, P-14, B-11). During the summers between academic years, I have done research in biomedical and natural sciences. Though my clinical experience is limited, I do have volunteering experience as an organic chemistry tutor and a senior counselor at a children's camp. I have done some research on potential medical schools and the MD/MPH program at the Yale School of Medicine is particularly attractive to me. Does anyone know how applying under the Early Decision Plan affects an applicant's chances of admission? Would applying under this plan to Yale be a good idea for me?

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. DW

DW Fix me some sandwiches
    Moderator Emeritus 10+ Year Member

Medical Student
    at least i've been told ED is a bad idea. Especially at a big name school, you better be an unreal candidate, great gpa, 36 plus mcat, lots of extra curriculars. Cause in the chance you DONT get in early, you're already 3 months behind everyone else in AMCASing off your other apps, and timing is of the essence here as kids will have already gotten into your "safety" schools already.