SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

A question for the medical community

Discussion in 'Topics in Healthcare' started by Jbuprepharm, Jun 18, 2008.

1. Jbuprepharm

Jbuprepharm The Poopsmith 10+ Year Member

Apr 8, 2006
    I am a pharmacy student with a question about medical degrees. In pharmacy, we all get a PharmD(or however one wishes to abbr. it), but in medicine, there are (as you all know) two degrees, the MD and DO. Now my question is, and it's purely superficial: why are they not a DA and a DO, or both an MD? This might be a stupid question, but it popped into my head earlier and I figured this might be a good place to ask.

Doctor of Medicine = went to allopathic school
    Doctor of Osteopathy = went to osteopathic school

Is it just become MDs were around first and they made DO's distinguish themselves? I'm genuinely just curious
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2008
  2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. njbmd

njbmd Guest Moderator Emeritus 5+ Year Member

May 30, 2001
    Gone Walkabout!
    Degrees for whatever are more suited for Topics in Healthcare rather than an Allopathic medical school forum. People who are attending allopathic medical schools are getting the MD and theoretical questions about other degrees are better suited for Topics in Healthcase.
  4. cpants

cpants Member 10+ Year Member

Sep 28, 2007
    M.D. = Medicinae Doctor or Medical Doctor
    D.O. = Doctor of Osteopathy

It's basically just tradition. MD's came first, and those are the letters they chose. DO's chose to go with their letters. It doesn't really matter.
  5. Patholog

Patholog Junior Member 7+ Year Member

Aug 14, 2006
    You probably just opened a can of worms here.