Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

A speciality later on in life?

Discussion in 'Dental' started by harkkam, May 15, 2007.

1. harkkam

7+ Year Member

If I make it thorough dental school and I finish and I am able to be licensed. Are there individuals who maybe later on in life come back to specialize in something they like. So after graduating dental school, ten years later they decide to come back and do a ortho speciality. Would that be possible?

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. mkogz5

mkogz5 Member
    7+ Year Member

Dentist
  4. Lesley

Lesley Member
    10+ Year Member

Attending Physician

Yes, it's very possible. I was accepted into a pros program 7 years after I graduated, but I didn't take it for these reasons:

1) Money. I was still paying back my dental school debt and was reluctant to borrow for another two years of schooling and shoulder additional debt.

2) Time. I had discussed my cost concerns with the program director. He suggested I take the GRE's to be considered for an MS/speciality program. It's much less expensive. I did okay on the GRE's and was approved for that program as well. However, the trade off for the MS/speciality program's reduced costs was a greater burden on my time. I would have to do research and write a thesis of some sort in addition to the pros program requirements. This would make for more work during the two year program and possibly lengthen it too. I had two young children and was not willing to devote, potentially, that much time to a program.

3) Money. My husband and I had an existing general practice together. If I completed a speciality program, I would have been unable to return to our practice. It would be hard to gain referrals working out of a GP office, yet I did not want to incur the expense of an additional office.