1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

A Very Complicated Residency Question

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by brickmanli, Jan 11, 2002.

1. brickmanli

brickmanli Senior Member
    7+ Year Member

Hi, I have a really complicated residency question which I hope someone could answer:

1. My parents and I were NY residents from 1990
    2. I graduated from SUNY at Buffalo in 2001
    3. My father got a job in New Haven last April and changed his residency to CT in June
    4. My mom and I moved to New Haven in June. We are still NY residents.
    5. I paid for my apartment in Buffalo until August 31 of last year.
    6. I received an interview from SUNY Buffalo, which offers a much cheaper in-state tuition.

Question:
    Am I still a NY resident, and if yes, for how long? Should I move back to Buffalo at some point if I decide on going there?

I know this is a very weird situation, but any effort is appreciated!

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. bald

bald Member
    7+ Year Member

im not sure how much it varies from state to state, or from school to school, but... i believe that in most cases (assuming you are claimed by your parents on their taxes as a dependent) you are a resident in whatever state they pay their taxes in. I dont know if this is your situation, I'm assuming your dad pays CT taxes and has claimed you as a dependent, my understanding is you'd be a CT resident, or at least a med school would consider you to be.

4. amonkeybutt

amonkeybutt Senior Member
    7+ Year Member