About to graduate with MPH but still have a desire for medical school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

monkeym8

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
hey there!

my name is Kevin and I have an interesting dilemma...

about myself: child of immigrants who escaped the khmer rouge, have a hearing loss, ADHD, and grew up in a rural community. have shadowed derm, ent, family

I graduated from a top public university in 2019 with a BS in Public Health. I already took all my prereqs (cGPA: 3.48; sGPA: 3.29; moderate upward trend) I was supposed to take the MCAT that summer but life got in the way.

I then worked at small clinic as a patient care coordinator before enrolling in an MPH program (healthcare mgmt) at an Ivy League. My initial reasoning for wanting to pursue an MPH was I wanted to impact a larger scale and have a more policy driven focus towards health inequities. From my internship experiences at health systems, I realized that I don't want to be crunching numbers and primarily working in an office setting. I want the ability to develop meaningful relationships with patients and play a direct role in their health. I also can't stand the long lead time between interventions and outcomes...

Given that I am about to graduate this May, I was thinking about taking my MCAT in August. Do y'all think that I should retake my med school prereqs to work on the sGPA? What else should I do during these next two years as I prepare my application? Also, does anyone understand how loan forgiveness programs work? If I pursued an MD, and made 120 consecutive payments, would my MPH loans be forgiven as well?

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.