ABPS Emergency Medicine Board Certification

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rs2006

student
10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

Good evening. I hope all is well. I just needed some advise:

I am a US Citizen, American medical school graduate and completed an IM residency at a top US Medical School in '09. I then completed my board certification the same year and have been working in EDs since the time I graduated residency-- now over 2 yrs. My scores-- USMLE Step 1 ~220, Step 2 CK ~234, CS pass, and Step 3 240 all on first attempt.

I have enjoyed the time that I have spent working in EDs and would like to continue doing so. It seems that I have 2 options-- go back and do a residency in EM or consider taking the ABPS exam for Emergency Medicine as most places require Emergency Medicine boarded physicians.
I have mixed feelings about going back and doing a second residency as I have been out of residency for a significant amount of time. The question I had (please do not flame me-- I would be grateful for some honest advice) is how vaild is the ABPS Emergency Medicine Board Certification when it comes to jobs and would also like to get some advice as to how reasonable it would be to do a second residency given my experience? I would also like to hear from anyone who has done a second residency and their experiences doing so.

Sorry for the long post and thanks in advance for any advice!

Members don't see this ad.

It's invalid in many states already as it is a fake way to get "credentials". It's also false advertising. If you want to be BC in EM, you need to do a residency. Sorry.

It's invalid in many states already as it is a fake way to get "credentials". It's also false advertising. If you want to be BC in EM, you need to do a residency. Sorry.

Agreed.