Medical Abraar's MD/MPH Adventures through Yale, UCLA & Harvard

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

This interview is the latest in an Accepted blog series featuring interviews with medical school applicants and students, offering readers a behind-the-scenes look at top medical schools and the med school application process. And now, introducing Abraar Karan, MD Candidate at UCLA, future MPH Candidate at Harvard…

Accepted: We’d like to get to know you! Where are you from? Where and what did you study as an undergrad?

Abraar: I was born in Hyderabad, India and moved here when I was 2 years old. I grew up in a suburb of Los Angeles where I spent all of my childhood until college. I attended Yale University and studied Political Science, and was also in the pre-medical track.

Accepted: Where are you in med school and in which year?

Abraar: I am currently a fourth year medical student at UCLA where I serve as the Student Body President.

Accepted: What are your residency plans?

Abraar: I am planning on pursuing a residency in internal medicine.

Accepted: Can you tell us about FAPSE and your personal interest in the Holocaust?

Abraar: I am looking forward to the incredible opportunity through FASPE (Fellowship at Auschwitz for the Study of Professional Ethics) to study medical ethics in the context of the atrocities of the Holocaust. Medical professionals had a very significant role as perpetrators of human rights and dignity, and I believe that even today, this example can remind us how to be more conscientious in the care of our patients, particularly regarding issues that don't have a clear "right vs. wrong" answer.

Accepted: Congrats on your acceptance to Harvard's School of Public Health! Why did you decide to pursue this additional degree? How will it further your professional goals?