Academic Dishonesty 9-10 years ago & Non-trad applying to MD Schools in Canada:

• Please review the updated member agreement. Included is a new statement supporting the scientific method and evidence-based medicine. Claims or statements about disease processes should reference widely accepted scientific resources. Theoretical medical speculation is encouraged as part of the overall scientific process. However, unscientific statements that promote unfounded ideological positions or agendas may be removed.
Jul 23, 2020
Status
Pre-Medical
Hello,

So 9-10 years ago when I was a senior in my undergrad (Canadian University) I was involved with an academic misconduct - basically I wasn't prepared for a test and had a major lapse in judgement and I changed the date on my doctors note and gave it to the prof. My prof called the clinic to check and discovered I had lied. I got a 0 in my class and was suspended for a semester.
I realize it was a really really stupid & very immature thing to do. I have no excuses for why I acted this way and I regret it immensely. Looking back, I clearly did not have the maturity or the discipline to handle university and lacked any kind of ethics or respect for myself and for the institution. My overall GPA from that school is also really low (like 2.6).

Since then I have completed another 4 yr undergrad degree and achieved a 3.95 cGPA WHILE working full-time & being a full-time student. I have about 5 years of professional work experience, as well as 5 years of community service (both hospital & community & vulnerable populations), as well as many years of solid clinic experience as well (both as a first aid volunteer & lots of shadowing). I have done both business & science research & have lots of international experiences to talk about. My MCAT is 520. I am currently completing my last year of an MBA program and planning on applying soon.