Academic IM as a DO

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DrWhozits

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know this topic has been broached before; however, is hoping for an updated/more specific answer.

I'm a DO student considering IM, but I would like to keep fellowships open as a possibility later, so an academic program would be the goal.

If I were aiming to end up somewhere in the southeast (VA, NC, SC, KY, TN, GA, FL) or Texas, and applying reasonably to state school-affiliated and communiversity type programs, what sort of scores are expected?

There are plenty of DOs in programs like these, but are the people that end up doing IM at somewhere like University of Kentucky (just a random example) as DOs scoring way above average or is it more attainable than that?

Most of the threads discussing academic IM on here always seem to discuss Emory, Duke, Vandy, etc when talking about the SE.

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

I know this topic has been broached before; however, is hoping for an updated/more specific answer.

I'm a DO student considering IM, but I would like to keep fellowships open as a possibility later, so an academic program would be the goal.

If I were aiming to end up somewhere in the southeast (VA, NC, SC, KY, TN, GA, FL) or Texas, and applying reasonably to state school-affiliated and communiversity type programs, what sort of scores are expected?

There are plenty of DOs in programs like these, but are the people that end up doing IM at somewhere like University of Kentucky (just a random example) as DOs scoring way above average or is it more attainable than that?

Most of the threads discussing academic IM on here always seem to discuss Emory, Duke, Vandy, etc when talking about the SE.

Thanks

About 240+ would be a safe score. I think you could probably get some love from academic programs in those places with less but it'd be less of a sure thing.