HueySmith

Probationary Status
2+ Year Member
Jul 20, 2017
Status
Medical Student
First off, I am a DO student, so my school is already lacking a well-developed research department. Second, I am not interested in doing research with my career in the future. But, I have been talking to many of my friends who are conducting research during summer and throughout the school year, and, what I got from them is that you should do research only if 1) you want a super competitive specialty, or 2) you want to do academic medicine.

I can understand doing research so you can be a competitive candidate for a lucrative specialty. But, what is the big deal with academic medicine? What are the benefits of going to an academic institution for your residency vs a community program?

Doctor-S

Grand Rounds
Lifetime Donor
2+ Year Member
Jun 9, 2016
My initial thoughts:

It depends on "what" you want to do with your degree (e.g., surgery vs. dermatology vs. family practice, vs. academic medicine, or whatever) and the "place" at which you're thinking about doing your residency (e.g., a rural hospital with lots of bread-and-butter cases or a Level 1 trauma center in the middle of a busy city, with high acuity cases).

Some residents love AMCs and others love community hospitals.

In general, AMCs provide more structured teaching opportunities (e.g., afternoon conferences), clinical research and cutting-edge research opportunities; and attendings may be leading authorities in their fields. There are more residents/attendings/fellows (to provide teaching experiences) at AMCs; and LORs from pioneering attendings or MD-PhDs at AMCs might lead to coveted fellowships, etc.

Granted, community hospitals may also provide excellent clinical opportunities, depending on the community hospital. Once again, it depends on the site as well as your chosen field, among other things.

[TL/DR: it's your choice.]

OP
H

HueySmith

Probationary Status
2+ Year Member
Jul 20, 2017
Status
Medical Student