Accepted to medical school and I am having cold feet

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

immabeadoctor

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
My journey to medical school has been a long one. I am an international student and this is the third time I applied and finally got in. I am having so many second thoughts and I am worried about so many things. I am a 32 year old single female. I never thought I would question medicine, but I have been lately. I am worried that I will not have the chance to have a family if I attend medical school. I know this is something I have to sort out on my own, but I was wondering if anyone can give me any advice!

Members don't see this ad.

It will be easier to meet a partner if you are not in medical school due to how busy you are in med school.

Meeting a partner in medical school is not impossible. Several of my classmates got married and had kids in med school.

The unknown is unnerving, but that's life sometimes.

You are being presented with an opportunity that you have worked for...an opportunity that many would die for.

You have to ask yourself "If I fast forward to 2030 and I still don't have a family, but I didn't go to med school, will I regret turning down the acceptance?"

Also ask yourself "If I turn down the acceptance and get a family will I wonder if I could have still done that and went to med school both?"

"If I go to medical school and don't end up having a family, will I regret it more than not going to medical school?"

In my opinion, you are putting a more definite thing (med school acceptance, assuming you finish out and become a physician) versus a less sure thing either way (meeting a great partner and forming a good stable family). However, I'm a guy, so my overall feelings may be different on the matter.

Last edited:
  • Love
Reactions: 10 users