Active Duty Officer to Dental School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Xxticy

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am currently an active duty officer in the USAF with a little over 6yrs time in service. I am currently a rated officer and love my job but have been considering trying to apply to a dental school and staying in to finish up my 20 years. Just trying to get a good idea of what programs the USAF may offer for Active Duty officers to get accepted to dental school. I have a Biology Degree and have taken the DAT but it has been approx. 8yrs since then. Are there any programs that offer Dental School spots to AD members? I am aware I will have to take the DAT again, but any advice or directions you could point me would be greatly appreciated...

Members don't see this ad.

Hi, I am currently an active duty officer in the USAF with a little over 6yrs time in service. I am currently a rated officer and love my job but have been considering trying to apply to a dental school and staying in to finish up my 20 years. Just trying to get a good idea of what programs the USAF may offer for Active Duty officers to get accepted to dental school. I have a Biology Degree and have taken the DAT but it has been approx. 8yrs since then. Are there any programs that offer Dental School spots to AD members? I am aware I will have to take the DAT again, but any advice or directions you could point me would be greatly appreciated...

There aren't any "programs" that will get an AD member into dental school. You pretty much have to apply in the same way everyone else does. I'm assuming you'll shoot for the HPSP considering you want to finish up 20 yrs in the AF. Basically, as you said, it's a matter of taking the DAT, making sure you match up numerically, and just take it from there. If you don't mind me asking...what made you decide to apply to dental school after 6 yrs as an AD officer?