Additional Schools

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Darkskies

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a 3.47 GPA(some C- in pre-req courses that were retaken for As) from a top 40 school and a 32 MCAT(PS:9 VR:11 BS:12). I am so far applying to 25 schools but it seems like the price for the primary is less than I had expected. Are there any other reasonable or low tier schools I should include(and still not get overwhelmed with lengthy secondaries)? I am a NY state resident. Below are the schools I have selected on my AMCAS so far:
NYMC
SUNY Upstate
SUNY Downstate
SUNY Buffalo
Hofstra
Stonybrook
Albany Medical College
University of Rochester
EVMS
Rosalind Franklin
Drexel
Temple
Jefferson
Commonwealth Medical College
Tulane
Tufts
Virginia Commonwealth
Virginia Tech Carilion
Louisville
Michigan State
Wayne State
Oakland University William Beaumont
Creighton
George Washington
University of Vermont

Thanks for everyone's advice in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Low chances at almost all those schools. You should apply to DO. At 3.47, you're at the DO average.

Low chances at almost all those schools. You should apply to DO. At 3.47, you're at the DO average.

Don't I have a 50/50 shot since my MCAT is a 32R? I already am applying to DO schools as well.

Members don't see this ad :)
That looks like a reasonable list to me (you've already added most of the lower tier / less competitive schools). Add a handful of DO schools and you should be all set (as far as giving yourself the best odds, not guaranteeing an acceptance :)).

Don't I have a 50/50 shot since my MCAT is a 32R? I already am applying to DO schools as well.