Address to use for permanent license

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Psychotic

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 4th year resident, and will soon apply for a permanent license in a couple of states. I will do the FCVS.

I do not plan to work immediately after the end of residency in June, and therefore do not have a new job or a place of employment to list on an application. What have others done, or what do you recommend I do, when filling out licensing apps to avoid using my home address?

I will check with my residency program to find out if I can use their address, at least until I know where I am going, but I am looking for other ideas. P.O. box, or mailbox plus arrangement?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I'd recommend getting a PO Box. And I'd use it for updating your NPI, DEA, state medical license, etc. It's easy to lose track of what is going where, which can cause problems down the line.

I also wouldn't use a residential address due to issues of safety. I'm forensic, so I am more cautious than most, but there are some really nasty stories for psychiatrists of any stripe.

Reactions: 1 users
I'd recommend getting a PO Box. And I'd use it for updating your NPI, DEA, state medical license, etc. It's easy to lose track of what is going where, which can cause problems down the line.

I also wouldn't use a residential address due to issues of safety. I'm forensic, so I am more cautious than most, but there are some really nasty stories for psychiatrists of any stripe.

How do you avoid listing your address in things like driver's license (if you ever get a traffic citation), property records, and voter records?

Members don't see this ad :)
Do you not plan to work at all next year? Most of the residents in my program have had jobs lined up for some time now (if not doing fellowship). It's not too early to look for a job if you plan to work in September.

Reactions: 1 user