Admission to Med School???

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Rabinhood

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Background:

I was persecuted (and barred from attending to a higher education institution) due to religious affiliation where I was born (outside the US) so I migrated to the US as a refugee 16 years ago. I went to a community college then a state university. I did not graduate and have a few Fs (less than 5) on transcript. A few years later, I went to a career college and obtained AA in respiratory care and made no less than Bs. I have 6 years of experience in respiratory care and have worked in acute, long term acute, and sub acute settings. I will have BS in respiratory care by June 2014 with GPA 2.5 (overall cumulative and combined) from LLU. At LLU, out of 20 classes, I have a couple of Cs, a couple of Fs (did not drop the class on timely manner), and As on all core subjects (respiratory). I am taking science classes at UCLA extension beginning January 2014. I have none of science classes required to apply for med school so I will be busy for the next couple of years preparing. I have looked at Caribbeans Med schools but I rather attend a med school in the US.

Questions:

How are my chances to get accepted to a med school in the US? I like to know what I should do to succeed beside getting As. What can I do to increase the likelihood of acceptance?
Looking forward to read your inputs.

PS. I am 40 years old if that makes any difference.

Members don't see this ad.

It's highly unlikely that you will be accepted. There are many interesting careers in healthcare, it sounds like you already have a career option with your respiratory care background.

Reactions: 1 user