Admissions Info

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gpannu

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys..looks like my medical school dream is over. Anyhow, my backup was denisrty if any of you could be so kind to reply please do. I am a canadian student I just wanted how competeivt is dental school in the united states. I have a 3.4 gpa.....looks like it;s gonna be competeive no.......anyways thanks.

Oh - Guniess the beer rocks...I think I like it better than caffreys. U guys in the sates are suffering the beer sucks.

Members don't see this ad.

Hey man,

I'm sorry to inform you, but you're gonna piss of some dental students with your post. I just thought I should warn you. I know your post was sincere and not meant to be harmful, therefore I'm not mad at ya. But, you shouldn't choose dentistry just because you can't get into a medical school. That's the worst thing you can do! If you want to be a MD or DO, work harder and go for it. Don't be a dentist unless you truely are interested in dentistry.

Cheers...sorry bro. Did'nt mean anythign by the post. If any are offende I apologize. However I'm just being realistic. Anyhow, I have some interest in oral surgery so it's not that i'm choosing dentisry as a last option...jsut an laternative....again sorry if anyone was offended.

Members don't see this ad :)
like I said...I'm not mad at cha!

Well I will tell you this much, you not only have to get into Dental school but have to do extremely well to go into oral surgery. It's pretty competitive. How do you know you can't get into medical school? Have you tryed? I'am not angry either, but I feel the same way Atlas does about the subject. I would be furious if someone using dental school as a back up plan got in and decided in wasn't for them, thus possibly taking a spot away from a student who really has their heart set on dentistry. Once again I'am not angry at you.