Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

Advance Please for major..... Sorry long post

Discussion in 'Pre-Dental' started by MRSMUFFEN, Dec 18, 2008.

1. MRSMUFFEN

2+ Year Member

Pre-Dental
    Hello All,

I am new to the SDN, Just finished my 1st degree BS. BA, but I am a mission to reach my new goal. I am currently enrolled at MCC for Spring 09 (14-15 credits) bio/lab and others to transfer to ASU this fall. I am about to submit my application and Of course for Aid you have to have a major& apply as 2nd Bac. I have narrowed it down to three choices that do interest me and will help in complete pr-reqs ASAP. My choices are, 1) Microbiology BS, 2) Molecular Biosciences/Biotechnology BS or 3) Biological Sciences (Ecology & Evolution) BS,
    Descriptions:
    1.) Students in the Bachelor of Science program in Microbiology engage in the study of microorganisms (bacteria, viruses, and fungi) and their activities, including their impact on humans, animals and the environment. Several basic and applied subdisciplines are included: medical and clinical microbiology, which concerns microbes that cause infectious diseases; virology; immunology, which involves the study of immune defense mechanisms; industrial microbiology and biotechnology; microbial fermentation, which involves growing microorganisms to make chemicals, antibiotics and other economically important products; food and pharmaceutical microbiology, including quality control; mycology, which is the study of fungi; soil and aquatic microbiology; biodegradation; microbial physiology and biochemistry; microbial genetics; recombinant DNA technology; and molecular biology.