Advice about what to do.

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by latinfridley, Nov 9, 2002.

1. latinfridley

I know its kinda late in the game for me ( im a junior, currently majoring in comp sci), but lately ive been torn between whether or not to major in comp sci or neurobiology. The truth is i dislike computer science, i just dont enjoy hours of programming, and lectures on mathematical proofs of algorithms. I totally dig neuroscience. This may sound dumb, but im beginning to realize lately that the only reason I'm majoring in comp sci, is 1) because im afraid that if i dont get into med school, there isnt a heck of alot i can do with a bio degree while with comp sci there are plenty of opportunities, 2) perhaps the worst reason of all, it almost hurts to admit it, Im afraid of the wrath or dissaproval of my stepfather who constantly tells me the virtues of majoring in a field where practical, marketable skills are learned and can be applied to a career with a decent income, and the vices of majoring in a 'worthless' degree such as biology (in terms of income and opportunity). Im intent on going to med school, however, there are too many tales of people who dont get in.
    Anyone else been in or currently in a similar situation?
    Any advice appreciated. I need to decide very soon.

the jrod

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. SunnyS81

SunnyS81 Senior Member

Resident [Any Field]
    If you are close to finishing the CS degree...........just do it. You can do a double major if you want, but I think it is in your best interest to at least get the degree to show the effort you've put into CS so far.