Advice and Tips for MCAT Retake?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DamanTHFC

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I just got my scores back. I did bad ... got a 21: V5, B9, P7

It was a real shock. But after being really bummed and sad, I think I am starting to pick up and get ready for a retake.

I mean, I have no doubt that I want to become a physician, and if it demands a good mcat score, so be it. I know I can do it because i do have the capability; we all do!

I have a good gpa 3.74 (pitt), and I think I have pretty good EC's and LOR..

For this test, I studied using kaplan on demand, but I think i kind of felt rushed because of school. However, I think I am going to make my own plan this time.

I plan to take the exam in Sept.
This is where my first question comes:
Will taking the exam that late be bad for this cycle? I still want to apply for this cycle. Any advice?

If I do take it in Sept, I have about 2.5 months:
I plan to study at least 7 hrs, 6 times a week.
My basic monthly schedule would be:
1rst month: do all review of material and 2nd month: do aamc self assessment and as many as possible practice mcats

My basic daily schedule would be:
Verbal everyday, then study a subject (bio,phys,chem,orgo), after that do any tests/hw that are available on kaplan, and finally finish the day with a review of the whole day.

So this is pretty much it. I would greatly appreciate and advice on test date, study plan, schedules, etc.

Thanks!!!

Members don't see this ad.

What do you think you did wrong the first time? What was your study schedule like? You seem to have a grasp on what you need to do, go work on it. Goodluck!

i am taking a retake. best thing i learned is to use AAMC official sources for official practice and anything else as content review.

I honestly don't really know what I did wrong ...
I think I spent more time stressing than actually studying lol