Advice Appreciated - Nowhere Else To Get It

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

icedearth33

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am going to try and explain my dilemma without delving into my entire life story here, so please bare with me as I go. I appreciate in advance anyone who decides to respond to this with sound advice. At this point I would appreciate any advice that anyone may have for me. I do not know anyone personally who is on the same path as I, and my academic advisor is basically MIA as he is nearing retirement. I apologize if I bounce back and forth and note things without much explanation - I am trying to make this short and sweet for anyone reading it.

I am a full-time pre-med undergrad working part-time at about 17 hours per week. I have been attending a community college now for the past 4 years, with about two of those years cumulatively, having withdrew due to an 8 year battle with alcoholism. Before going to rehab and getting sober 2.5 years ago, I was maintaining a 4.0 GPA. However, knowing that things were going to get more difficult very quickly, I made the decision to stop drinking and enter inpatient rehabilitation. To this day when anyone asks, I tell them I did this for two reasons - to remain alive, and because I wanted to become a doctor more than I wanted to continue down the path that I was on. I could go on and on for paragraphs trying to convince whomever is reading this that my heart is in medicine and that this is what I have decided to dedicate my life to, but for purposes of time and necessity, I hope that you see that this is truly the case.