DO Advice/Chances? 3.6 sGPA / 3.7 cGPA / 25 MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

shinosuke

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Unfortunately my MCAT is low even after a retake, 9/8/8 (previously 8/8/8) and okay GPA.

-Clinical volunteer activities
400 hours in a hospital working with patients
-Physician shadowing (include specialties and total hours)
90 hours, shadowed a rotation of MD 2/3rd year residents
-Research
Internship at a company as a Chemical Analyst (worked with GC-MS) for half a year about 20 hours a week
-Nonclinical volunteer activities
Rotaract club for 2 years
-Employment
Medical Scribe Trauma 2 center - 2k+ hours
Medical Assistant Private Orthopedists office - 1k~ hours

Applied to two cycles of medical school already. I am a NJ resident.

1st cycle: Applied to Rowan, NYIT, CUSOM, ACOM, PCOM, PCOM Georgia

Received an interview at CUSOM, got waitlisted and did not get in.

2nd Cycle: Applied to only CUSOM (to show I really wanted to go to their school and took a risk). Got waitlisted and did not get in again :(.

Current cycle: Applied to CUSOM, Rowan, ACOM, RVUCOM (Utah and Colorado), AT Still University Arizona, St. George's (Caribbean).

MCAT:
Currently I work at a family dry cleaner's because of some family issues and have not had time to study for the new MCAT. I do plan to take the test in January. For me, I was averaging 30 if not high 20s on practice tests, but every time I took the MCAT I've been getting mid 20s (24/25 respectively).

Secondary invites: CUSOM, Rowan, ACOM, RVUCOM (Utah and Colorado), AT Still University Arizona
Current Interview invites: St. George's.

No rejections post secondary but no interview invites from DO schools yet.

I'll be honest, I don't want to go to the Caribbean for medical school and applied as a last ditch effort.