advice for a non-trad

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rugby9

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 29 year old and I could really use some advice as far as my chances for med school and any ideas of how I could improve my application.

I graduated in 2003 with a B.S. in Biology and a 3.6 cGPA (my sGPA is similar). I have taken a couple classes since then (for work) and have gotten A's, but they were at a community college- Statistics and Anatomy and Physiology. I completed all of my pre-med requirements while I was in undergrad. Do I need to retake classes? Or take more classes to show I can still do it? Or will a great MCAT suffice (I haven't taken it yet).

Since graduation, I have worked in several different fields and moved around a lot, due to my husband being in the military. He has recently decided to switch over to the reserves making our lives more stable and finally giving me the opportunity to prepare to apply for medical school. I hope to do so summer of 2012.

I currently work for the red cross doing clinical research (and have worked here for 2 years). I also did medical research at NIH while in college and spent a year in a lab testing air samples for biological warfare agents in 2005. With 2 kids and working full time and playing rugby, I haven't had time for much else. I am currently planning on hospital volunteering to get more patient contact hours. My other question would then be, do the ECs I did in college count (I was president of my dorm, volunteered at a vet clinic, helped start the college's biology club, psychology honors society, played rugby etc.) or am I starting over from scratch?

Any thoughts on my chances or ideas to help make me competitive would be great. Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.