Advice for A PGY-1 Hopeful

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

technician107

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello -

I haven't posted in here a while but I just wanted some advice on how to be competitive. I am currently a P2. I know that I want to apply for a residency, but I want to get advice on what more I can do. I currently have a 3.63 GPA, Vice President of a fraternity, involved in SGA, Tutor, and on the curriculum committee as a student voice amongst the faculty. I currently work in a hospital (5 months so far) and have worked in long term care for four years as a tech then an intern and before that, four years as a pharm tech in retail.

I am concerned because I know how hard it is to apply and be competitive for residencies - but what more can I do - Any advice?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
clinical research?
you look competitive

Clinical research is one thing where I don't know how to get involved in. =\ I guess asking around faculty is a first step.

Members don't see this ad :)
i would love for someone to please explain the benefit of doing research or residency. I have worked in both hospital and retail (granted it was locally owned in the best neighborhood). I feel like clinical pharmacy takes away from the true nature of pharmacy which is serving the community...not parading around in a long coat but being there for people on demand. The whole doctorate title to me is irrelevant. We arent doctors...we are pharmacists.