1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Guest, be sure to check out How To Get Into Dental School, our free downloadable PDF with step-by-step details for dental school applicants!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Advice for a pre-dental noob

Discussion in 'Pre-Dental' started by supergumbo, Dec 22, 2008.

1. supergumbo

5+ Year Member

Medical Student
    Hey everyone. I am an undergraduate senior who has explored options in the medical field (pretty late, I know). I was pre-med for that span of time. Anyways, I have a great interest in pursuing dental school and then becoming a dentist.

Since I'm a senior, I obviously have to apply at least next year. However, I'm very unfamiliar with the dental application process. I've looked at sites with general requirements and so but I don't have much of an idea how to be competitive.

I'll have to take an extra year, so what would you recommend someone in my position to do at this time? I haven't shadowed a dentist so I could do that. However, I've tried to and it was tough finding any dentist that was willing to let me do that. I want to show the admissions office that I'm interested in dentistry. I haven't taken the DAT yet, so I'll get on that. My gpa also is a shaky 3.43 so I'm not sure how competitive it will be. Would it be a good idea to do a 4+1 program or a masters in public health (or any masters)?

Sorry for so many questions. Things would be so much easier if I was still a junior or below. Any help is appreciated. Thanks. :)

2. supergumbo

5+ Year Member

Medical Student
    So..any advice?

3. Ranelar

7+ Year Member

Dental Student