Advice for an aspiring clinical geneticist

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

memono

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a pre-medical student applying to several osteopathic schools. I am considering taking a rather abnormal route. I am desperate for information on osteopathy and clinical genetics. Does anyone know how the fellowships view osteopathic medicine and is there an osteopathic school in which would be a superior choice for this career path? Thanks to all who can offer any advice.

Members don't see this ad.

I am a pre-medical student applying to several osteopathic schools. I am considering taking a rather abnormal route. I am desperate for information on osteopathy and clinical genetics. Does anyone know how the fellowships view osteopathic medicine and is there an osteopathic school in which would be a superior choice for this career path? Thanks to all who can offer any advice.

Perhaps you already have this info, but I was recently looking at some websites myself that you might find interesting:
http://www.ashg.org/genetics/ashg/pubs/tpguide/tpgg000.shtml

http://www.acmg.net/AM/Template.cfm...emplate=/CM/ContentDisplay.cfm&ContentID=2026

I defer to those who have more substantial experience in this area, but there doesn't seem to be a lot of DOs with this type of training--but this doesn't surprise me since most DOs historically aren't pursuing research tracks. There was a DO who went through the Wayne State program a few years back, so it can be done.

I wouldn't worry to much about it. According to Iserson's Guide to Getting a Residency, Medical Genetics is very easy to get into. In other words, it doesn't matter if you're MD or DO.

Members don't see this ad :)

Welcome to SDN.

The quick answer is that any DO school will allow you to pursue a genetics residency program.