advice for choosing pre-vet college

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

brainologydoc

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Im a UC grad and current med student and Im trying to help my sister decide this:

Would it be best to attend Cal state long beach all 4 years as a zoology (or biology) major, then try and get accepted to UC Davis veterinary school. OR, would you go to a good southern california community college, then transfer to Davis for the remaining two years in their animal science major? (I think they have an automatic transfer program) The first option is more simple, and closer to home. It may be easier to get good grades at community college then transfer, but UC students are pretty competative once your transfered so you may end up with better grades at CSULB. CSULB is a good school with pretty good science classes in my opinion. But going to Davis for two years may allow you to get to know faculty in the vet program or even get some volunteering there, etc. if its anything like med school its really your grades and your MCAT scores that matter over EVERYTHING else. If I had to choose I think it sounds like community then Davis is the best option ... thoughts anyone?

Members don't see this ad.

Unfortunately for vet school it's GPA that matters the most with most places (though that seems to be changing). Also there's several GPAs to consider (science, cumulative, last 45, pre-requisite). A good GRE can help bail out a bad GPA (and vice versa) but high GPAs shine brighter than high GREs it seems. However, it is most definitely possible to get in with less than a stellar GPA. You'd just have an easier time with higher.